Du désir d´horizons / Desire of Horizons

03.04.19, 19:00
Burkina Faso

With Du Désir d’horizons, Salia Sanou picks up on his favorite themes: loneliness and otherness of the individual, but also the question of territory, uprooting, exile, and borders. Here he processes his impressions from refugee camps in Burundi and Burkina Faso where he gave workshops as part of the project “Refugees on the Move”. Threatened by jihadist occupation and the fights in neighbouring Mali a lot of people have to get along in a confined space while trying to overcome their trauma.

Du désir d’horizons is not a show about refugee camps as such, but more a composition with a choreographic vocabulary, with room for understanding and reflection on the delicate situation facing refugees that echoes in us all. The horizon is the future, a vanishing line, an open space.

Duration: 65 min

Afterwards artist talk with Arlette-Louise Ndakoze

Choreography: Salia Sanou
Dancers: Cindy Emeli, Ousséni Dabaré, Leslie Louis-Jean, Jérôme Kaboré, Elithia Rabenjamina, Michael Nana, Marius Sawadogo, Asha Imani Thomas
Text: Nancy Huston
Exerts from „Limbes, Limbo / Un hommage à Samuel Beckett“, published by Éditions Actes Sud (2000)
Scenic design: Mathieu Lorry Dupuy
Lighting design: Marie-Christine Soma
Music: Amine Bouhafa
Technical director: Rémy Combret
Light technician: Diane Guérin
Production administration: Stéphane Maisonneuve
Production: Compagnie Mouvements perpétuels
Co-produktion: Théâtre National de Chaillot / African Artists for Development / Bonlieu – Scène nationale d’Annecy et La Bâtie Festival de Genève dans le cadre du programme Interreg France – Suisse 2014-2020 / Tilder / La Filature – Scène nationale de Mulhouse / Viadanse Centre chorégraphique national de Franche-Comté à Belfort / Centre de développement chorégraphique de Toulouse Midi-Pyrénées

Supported by: Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication – DRAC Occitanie, Région Occitanie Pyrénées-Méditerranée, ADAMI

In cooperation with: CDC La Termitière / Ouagadougou

Special thanks: Patricia Carette, Gervanne and Mathias Leridon, Jean-Michel Champault, Didier Deschamps, Emmanuel Colbert


Photos © Laurent Philippe