TIMBUKTU IS BACK!

Performing Arts from African Sahel

Dance, Performance, Film
3 – 9 April 2019, HAU Hebbel am Ufer Berlin

 

African Sahel has over a short period of time turned into an extremely complex region, where religion, political terrorism and the arts play a role. It presents an immense challenge to both heads of states and the populations, who advocated for democracy but now see their endeavours shrink due to this new scourge.

In Burkina Faso, Mali, Ivory Coast, Senegal, and other countries of this region, a whole generation of artists take on themes like freedom of speech, human rights, the fight against fundamentalism and the culture of peace. The Islamic movements, the widespread illegal trade and the unstable governments are therefore often focal points for choreographies and theatre plays.

Born after the independence and standing between Western education and their Islamic origin, these artists resist feeling caught in this state of affairs, rather they engage, through their art, in order to contribute to the development of their countries and their continent, and to offer a ambiguous, contemporary African culture. As activists their creations bring another form of expression, supporting political and civic maturation.

Timbuktu Is Back! is a project for artistic encounters that promotes the exchange of ideas between the Sahel countries and Germany. Focus is on the creative work of formative choreographers such as Salia Sanou, Nadia Beugré and Serge Aimé Coulibaly, working in countries where the integrity is threatened by terrorism. The festival is also a platform for reflexion on the creative process of these choreographers and playwrights, on the connection between creativity and social engagement, as well as identity building, social development and, ultimately, peacekeeping.

Curated by Alex Moussa Sawadogo

Timbuktu Is Back! Performing Arts from African Sahel is a project by Kulturbrauerei e.V. in cooperation with HAU Hebbel am Ufer.
Funded by the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.
With kind support from Institut Français, the French Ministry for Culture/DGCA and the Embassy of Burkina Faso.

PROGRAM

Du désir d´horizons / Desire of Horizons

03.04.19, 19:00 SALIA SANOU Burkina Faso [HAU2] With Du Désir d’horizons, Salia Sanou picks up on his favorite themes: loneliness and otherness of the individual, but also the question of territory, uprooting, exile, and borders. Here he processes his impressions from refugee camps in Burundi and Burkina Faso where he gave workshops as part of…

Gao, la résistance d’un peuple / Gao, The Resistance Of A People – Film

05.04.19, 20:30, KASSIM SANOGO, Frankreich / Mali 2018, DCP, OmE, 54 min – German Premiere [HAU1] Early 2012, Northern Mali is occupied by different armed groups, demanding a division of the country and the introduction of Sharia rule. In Gao, the historic capital of the North, young residents organise resistance groups against the occupiers, trying…

Fatou t´as tout fait / Fatou, You Did It All

05. + 06.04.19, 19:00, FATOUMATA BAGAYOKO, Mali – German Premiere [HAU3] In her solo piece Fatoumata Bagayoko from Mali takes on female circumcision, to which she, along with numerous women not only in her home country, fell victim. In the darkness of the stage she raises her voice, while recapitulating the specific scenes of this…

Siki

05. + 06.04.19, 19:00, ALIOUNE DIAGNE, Senegal – German Premiere [HAU3] With this piece Alioune Diagne revives the spirit and story of the forgotten Senegalese boxing hero Battling Siki. Every dance here is a fight, and every fight a dance. Siki was the first African boxing world champion, he won his title in Paris in…

Tapis rouge / Red Carpet

06.04.19, 20:30, NADIA BEUGRÉ, Côte d’Ivoire – German Premiere [HAU2] What lies beneath the red carpet rolled out in Africa and across the world for the mighty and powerful? In her piece the Ivorian choreographer Nadia Beugré views the world “from below” and takes the audience on a journey through images we not often want to…

Kirina

09.04.19, 19:00, SERGE AIMÉ COULIBALY / ROKIA TRAORÉ / FELWINE SARR, Burkina Faso, Mali, Senegal [HAU2] For the creation of Kirina Serge Aimé Coulibaly drew on inspiration from his African background and his reflections on the world of today. The piece is named after a battle of the Mandinka people in the 12th Century, of…

VENUE

HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Stresemannstr. 29
10963 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0)30 259004 -0
hebbel-am-ufer.de

Venues
HAU1 – Stresemannstr. 29, 10963 Berlin
HAU2 – Hallesches Ufer 32, 10963 Berlin
HAU3 – Tempelhofer Ufer 10, 10963 Berlin

TICKETS

Du désir d’horizons: Category C – 17 € / 13 € (depending on row), reduced 10 €
Fatou t’as tout fait + Siki: Category D – 13 €, reduced 8 €
Tapis rouge: Category C – 17 € / 13 € (depending on row), reduced 10 €
Kirina: Category B – 22 € / 17 € / 13 € (depending on row), reduced 10 €
Gao Film: 5 €
Kombi-Ticket: 3 events for 30 €, reduced 20 € (free choice)


Tickets pre-sale
HAU2, Hallesches Ufer 32, 10963 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0)30.259004 -27
tickets@hebbel-am-ufer.de

Opening hours
Monday to Saturday from 3pm to one hour before the event begins, on event free days until 7pm.
Closed on Sundays and holidays.

Box offices and individual venues
One hour before the performance at the respective venues.

TIMBUKTU IS BACK!

Künstlerische Positionen aus dem afrikanischen Sahel

Tanz, Performance, Film
03. – 09. April 2019, HAU Hebbel am Ufer

 

Der afrikanische Sahel ist innerhalb kurzer Zeit zu einer Region von großer Unübersichtlichkeit geworden, in der Religion, politischer Terrorismus und die Kunst eine Rolle spielen. Sie stellt eine immense Herausforderung sowohl für die Staatsoberhäupter als auch die Bevölkerung dar, die sich für eine Demokratisierung stark gemacht hatten und die nun ihre Bemühungen durch diese neue Geißel schrumpfen sehen.

In Burkina Faso, Mali, Côte d’Ivoire, Senegal und weiteren Ländern dieser Region beschäftigt sich eine ganze Generation von Künstler*innen mit den Themen Meinungsfreiheit, Menschenrechte, dem Kampf gegen Fundamentalismus und Friedenskultur. Die islamistischen Bewegungen, der weitverbreitete illegale Handel und die instabilen Regierungen sind dabei häufig Thema der Choreografien und Theaterstücke.
Geboren nach der Unabhängigkeit und zwischen westlicher Ausbildung und islamischer Herkunft stehend, weigern sich diese Künstler*innen, sich als Gefangene dieses Zustands zu fühlen, vielmehr engagieren sie sich mithilfe ihrer Kunst, um zur Entfaltung ihrer Länder und ihres Kontinentes beizutragen und eine mehrdeutige, komplett zeitgenössische afrikanische Kultur anzubieten. Als Aktivist*innen bringen sie mit ihren Kreationen eine andere Ausdrucksform, eine Form des politischen und bürgerschaftlichen Erwachens hervor.

Timbuktu Is back! ist ein künstlerisches Begegnungsprojekt, das dem Ideenaustausch zwischen den Sahelländern und Deutschland dient. Im Fokus steht das künstlerische Schaffen von so prägenden Choreograf*innen wie Salia Sanou, Nadia Beugré und Serge Aimé Coulibaly in durch Terrorismus in ihrer Integrität bedrohten Ländern. Das Festival ist auch eine Plattform für Reflexionen über den Schaffensprozess dieser Choreograf*innen und Dramaturg*innen, über die Verbindung zwischen Kreation und sozialem Engagement sowie dem Identitätsaufbau, der sozialen Entwicklung und letztlich der Friedenssicherung.

Kuratiert von Alex Moussa Sawadogo

Timbuktu Is Back! Künstlerische Positionen aus dem afrikanischen Sahel ist ein Projekt von Kulturbrauerei e.V. in Zusammenarbeit mit HAU Hebbel am Ufer.

Gefördert aus Mitteln der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Institut Français, des französischen Ministeriums für Kultur/DGCA und der Botschaft von Burkina Faso.

PROGRAMM

Du désir d´horizons / Vom Wunsch nach Horizonten

03.04.19, 19:00 Uhr, SALIA SANOU Burkina Faso [HAU2] Mit Du désir d’horizons widmet sich Salia Sanou einem seiner bevorzugten Themen: der Einsamkeit und Andersartigkeit des Einzelnen und gleichzeitig der Frage nach Land, Entwurzelung, Exil und Grenzen. Er verarbeitet hier seine Eindrücke und Erfahrungen aus Flüchtlingslagern in Burundi und Burkina Faso, wo er im Rahmen des…

Gao, la résistance d’un peuple / Gao, Widerstand eines Volkes – Film

05.04.19, 20:30 Uhr, KASSIM SANOGO, Frankreich / Mali 2018, DCP, OmE, 54 min – Deutschland-Premiere [HAU1] Anfang 2012, der Norden Malis ist von verschiedenen bewaffneten Gruppen besetzt, die die Teilung des Landes und die Einführung der Scharia fordern. In Gao, der historischen Hauptstadt des Nordens, organisiert sich angesichts der neuen Besatzer*innen der Widerstand von Gruppen…

Fatou t´as tout fait / Fatou, du hast alles getan

05. + 06.04.19, 19:00 Uhr, FATOUMATA BAGAYOKO, Mali – Deutschland-Premiere [HAU3] Doppelvorstellung In ihrem Solo widmet sich die Malierin Fatoumata Bagayoko der weiblichen Beschneidung – einer Praxis, der sie neben ungezählten Mädchen und Frauen nicht nur in ihrer Heimat auch persönlich zum Opfer fiel. Im Dunkel der Bühne erhebt sie, indem sie die einzelnen Szenen…

Siki

05. + 06.04.19, 19:00 Uhr, ALIOUNE DIAGNE, Senegal – Deutschland-Premiere [HAU3] Doppelvorstellung Alioune Diagne lässt in diesem Stück den Geist und die Geschichte des vergessenen senegalesischen Boxhelden Battling Siki wieder aufleben. Jeder Tanz ist hier ein Kampf und jeder Kampf ein Tanz. Siki war der erste afrikanische Boxweltmeister, den Titel erlangte er 1922 in Paris.…

Tapis rouge / Roter Teppich

06.04.19, 20:30 Uhr, NADIA BEUGRÉ, Côte d’Ivoire – Deutschland-Premiere [HAU2] Was verdeckt der rote Teppich, den man den Mächtigen in Afrika und der ganzen Welt ausrollt? In ihrem Stück beleuchtet die aus Côte d’Ivoire stammende Choreografin Nadia Beugré die Welt „von unten“ und nimmt das Publikum mit auf eine Reise bevölkert von Bildern, die man häufig…

Kirina

09.04.19, 19:00 Uhr, SERGE AIMÉ COULIBALY / ROKIA TRAORÉ / FELWINE SARR, Burkina Faso, Mali, Senegal [HAU2] Serge Aimé Coulibaly ließ sich bei der Kreation von Kirina von seinem afrikanischen Hintergrund und seinen Betrachtungen auf die Welt von heute inspirieren. Das Stück, das den Namen einer für Westafrika bedeutenden Schlacht des Mandinkavolkes im 12. Jahrhundert…

ORT

HAU Hebbel am Ufer
Stresemannstr. 29
10963 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0)30 259004 -0
hebbel-am-ufer.de

Standorte
HAU1 – Stresemannstr. 29, 10963 Berlin
HAU2 – Hallesches Ufer 32, 10963 Berlin
HAU3 – Tempelhofer Ufer 10, 10963 Berlin

TICKETS

Du désir d’horizons: Kategorie C – 17 € / 13 € (je nach Reihe), erm. 10 €
Fatou t’as tout fait + Siki: Kategorie D – 13 €, erm. 8 €
Tapis rouge: Kategorie C – 17 € / 13 € (je nach Reihe), erm. 10 €
Kirina: Kategorie B – 22 € / 17 € / 13 € (je nach Reihe), erm. 10 €
Gao Film: 5 €
Kombi-Ticket: 3 Veranstaltungen für 30 €, erm. 20 € (frei wählbar)


Tageskasse
HAU2, Hallesches Ufer 32, 10963 Berlin
Tel. +49 (0)30.259004 -27
tickets@hebbel-am-ufer.de

Öffnungszeiten
Montag bis Samstag ab 15 Uhr bis eine Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn,
an vorstellungsfreien Tagen bis 19 Uhr.
Sonn- und feiertags geschlossen.

Abendkassen
Jeweils 1 Stunde vor Vorstellungsbeginn am jeweiligen Aufführungsort